About Us


The North Carolina High School Sand Volleyball Association (NCHSSVA) was established in late 2012 as a non-profit incorporated association with a founding group of North Carolina high school sand volleyball clubs:

  • Apex
    • Apex High School
  • Carrboro
    • Carrboro High School
  • Cary
    • Middle Creek High School
  • New Bern
    • The Epiphany School
  • Raleigh
    • Athens Drive High School
    • Broughton High School
    • Cardinal Gibbons
    • Ravenscroft
    • St. David’s Academy

In the 2014 season, the 2nd year of the NCHSSVA, the number of participating schools grew to 31 with some schools fielding varsity and JV squads. New additions came from across the state led by the Charlotte and surrounding area with 9 schools. In 2015, the number of participating schools grew to 46 with over 600 participants. 2016 saw the number of participating schools reach 53.

The end goal of the NCHSSVA is to develop sand volleyball at high schools until it reaches the 25% participation rate amongst North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA) member schools at which time the NCHSAA can consider sanctioning the sport.

The NCHSSVA’s board of directors serves as an administrative unit with the following functions:

  • Formulate rules/guidelines on how clubs should be organized and compete against other clubs
  • Manage club memberships including dues and rosters for each club
  • Keep track of scheduling of competitions
  • Keep track of results from competitions including any points/ranking system in place for teams/players
  • Formulate guidelines/qualification requirements for participation in playoffs
  • Be primary point of contact for business with other entities, such as Parks and Rec departments, other athletic associations, etc.
  • Assist in acquisition of competitions sites
  • Where applicable, assist in rental processes for competitions




President/Club Rep – Wake County: Mark Nalevanko
Treasurer: Anne Yount
USA Volleyball Rep: Kevin Wendelboe
Club Rep – Eastern NC: Garrett Mickle
Club Rep – Triad: Angela Levine
Club Rep – Triangle: Steve Scanga
Club Rep – Western NC: Eric Laskowski/Michelle Alanis
Club Rep – Wilmington: Larry Salefsky